Steve Rogers: This job… we try to save as many people as we can. Sometimes that doesn’t mean everybody. But if we can’t find a way to live with that, next time… maybe nobody gets saved.

The sad thing is, it should not be a Team Cap/Team Iron Man thing. A civil war should never have happened. But it did.

So why am I Team Cap?

In a word: people.

First, I am more likely to trust a person than a government–or a committee–any day.

Each of the catastrophes that was listed as a reason for the Accords–New York, Washington D.C., Sokovia, Lagos–were not caused by the Avengers. They were caused by people the Avengers were trying to stop. The governments that we are supposed to trust with oversight attempted to blow up the entire city of New York. The governments we are supposed to trust with oversight repeatedly choose to try and take power wherever it is found rather than to protect their people.

Given all of this, why on Earth–or anywhere in the galaxy–would we choose to let them control the Avengers?

Second, because people are people–with their own choices and their own hopes and dreams. They are not objects or weapons of war. Ross summarizes everything I disagree with early in the movie:

Secretary of State Thaddeus Ross: Tell me, Captain, do you know where Thor and Banner are right now? ‘Cause you can bet if I misplaced a couple of 30 megaton warheads, there’d be consequences

And lest anyone think this is a strawman, Tony about Wanda:

Tony Stark: She’s not a US Citizen and they don’t grant visas to Weapons of Mass Destruction.

Captain America–Steve Rogers–believes in the power of the individual to make their own choices. People are not assets. People are not objects.

And really, that is the true reason I am Team Cap: Because Steve Rogers believes in self control–not in controlling others.

And I would rather be responsible for my own mistakes any day than responsible for the mistakes of others–or have others responsible for choosing my mistakes.

Vision: [straining] If you do this, they will never stop being afraid of you.

Wanda Maximoff: I can’t control their fear. Only my own.

I am for Captain America because I am for the individual. I am for the defenseless. I am for the defender.

I am for the human being.

Leave a Reply

