Was I Born to Be Tame? First Installment

First: Strong Women are Good Stories

Why do I call myself a feminist? Because I believe that it is still necessary. This will be the first in what will hopefully become a series of articles about people that give me reason to believe that feminism is still necessary.

Dear world,
More specifically, dear condescending males who pretend that they are the only ones who speak truth,
Greetings. I am a woman. You may not have noticed that—I am, after all, neither little or dainty—but I am. Once I would have called myself a lady.
You’ve killed that term for me, thank you.
I am tired of holding my tongue and ignoring your blatant ignorance and air of superiority.
I’m drawing the line, though—you may not be worth my time and energy, but there are so many women and men you are warping with your bombast and supercilious rhetoric who are worth my time and energy.
I am writing for them.

NASA (International Space Station Imagery): JSC2006-E-42720 Author
Because they, like Anousheh Ansari, are not bound to this earth by gravity.

First, to Nathan Alberson, Author of  “An Open Letter to Rey from Star Wars”:

In another article, you say (sarcastically) “The only doubter or hater that might Awaken would be a grump like me who is totally out of touch and hates life, women, and Star Wars.”

Let me open by saying, I do not think you hate women.
I think you don’t even notice them.

International Monetary Fund (photographer uncredited)
Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala does not approve.

Did you and I watch the same movie? Upon reflection, I suspect we didn’t; after all, you suggest she choose Poe over Finn, when we don’t see them talk once during the entire movie (although, let’s be honest, that might be why; women are supposed to be seen and not heard, after all.)

There are so many things wrong with your article that it was hard to decide where to start; so many responses to begin with.

Instead, have a picture of Kalpana Chawla, actual NASA Astronaut. RIP.
Instead, have a picture of Kalpana Chawla, actual NASA Astronaut. RIP, Kalpana.

So I will go with my area of expertise: You claim strong female warriors are bad storytelling. (You also say ‘yuck’ to Dostoyevsky, further cementing your lack of credentials.)

Would you go so far as to call the Bible bad storytelling?

Do you know how much strength it takes to drive a tent peg through a man’s skull? (As Jael did?)

Or the exhaustion of gathering grain all day in the hot sun? (Ruth did that.)

Have you given birth without drugs to numb the pain? (Or, like Mary, without your family around?)

Or drawn water for thirsty camels? (Like Rebecca. Side note: Thirsty camels drink around 15 gallons of water at one sitting. 10 camels x 15 gallons x 8.34 pounds per gallon = AT LEAST 1251 pounds she lifted for a stranger. Even broken up into several repetitions, that was one strong woman–sorry, LITTLE LADY.)

Have you used your wit and resources to avoid an attack by angry outlaws? (Abigail.)

Have you lived from your youth on a desert planet, conserving your energy and dragging large heavy metal objects about? Learned to defend yourself from necessity? Practiced defending yourself with a stick after the first time you were unable to stop them from stealing your rations, and perhaps other things?

Have you survived as a woman in a world that believes you weak and vulnerable?

By James S. Davis [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Commodore Grace M. Hopper has.
The answer, of course, is no; you are a man.

The proof is in this statement you make, towards the end of your article riddled with logical fallacies, condescension, and self-centered fairy tales: “And what about all the girls and women out there who want to be godly, awesome, beautiful, feminine women? What about them? When they see one of your movies, they feel beaten up. They feel stupid and afraid to do what’s right.”

Women do not feel beaten up when they see women who are able to defend themselves. Women feel beaten up when they are beaten up: by men who see them as the supporting characters in their own stories; by men who use rape as a threat (looking at you, Kylo Ren); by men who claim that it is impossible for women to be anything more than weak.

So thank you, but no thank you, Mr. Alberson; I will continue striving to be a godly, awesome, beautiful, feminine woman, One after the pattern of Ruth, Deborah, and Mary, not the dissolving damsels you seem to favor.

By Tourism Victoria from Australia (Australian Open 2015) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Serena Williams.
Leave a Reply

